Let me give you some background before I jump into the discussion of doughnuts.  I love to cook.   Entertaining guests in the kitchen is my forte.  However,  I hate to bake.  Well, specifically, I hate to bake cookies.  They are extremely tedious.   Batch after batch tending…I shall have none of that!  Of the two of us, Megan is most definitely the “sweet genius.”  She is the sister who brings the sweet treat to any event and it is always spectacular.

What I have discovered though is that I do love to bake other things:  specifically, doughnuts.  Which brings us to today’s topic.   (Duh, duh, duh….)  The Quest for the Perfect Baked* Doughnut.   A while back, our mom bought a doughnut pan.  She made a batch of doughnuts which were tasty.  Then she put the pan in her cabinet.  Enter Jenny.  Long story short, the pan lives at my house now along with his twin.  Score.  I have been working on doughnuts on and off for about a week and a half now.   I completed trial three today and I think I found the keeper.

Round 1:  Chocolate Doughnuts with Cherry Icing  

These were pretty good.  They look nice.  They had a pretty decent flavor but they were kind of dense.  Let’s try again.

Round Two:  Pumpkin Doughnuts with Maple-Cinnamon Glaze

No picture because while these doughnuts tasted okay, they were not photogenic.  Picture off-putting color and weird sheen.  You did not want to see them.  Trust me.  I’m protecting you.

Round Three:  King Arthur’s Baked Doughnuts Three Ways ( I only did two of the 3)

   Cinnamon Sugar Doughnuts   Chocolate Chip Doughnuts

Success!!  Perfect texture, amazing taste, and attractive to boot!  So, I found my keeper.  (And it only took us eating about 4 dozen doughnuts in the name of research.)  I now have two dozen of these little beauties on my kitchen counter.

Anyone want a doughnut?

I’m kidding.  They’re already gone.  Don’t judge.

*A side note, I chose baked doughnuts because I don’t like to fry things.  It’s not so much a health issue as an “I like my skin on my arms” issue.