This is a problem:

The granola jar is almost empty!

My very favorite summertime breakfast is Greek yogurt, fruit, and granola, and I’ve discovered that granola is both: 1. a billion times better when homemade and 2. dead easy to make.

The “dead easy to make” is key – I like making a lot of my staple items at home when I can, but honestly, the ones that are really easy obviously get made the most.  And the super-awesome-fantastic thing about granola is its entirely customizable – whatever you like, you put in.

I’ve made a million lot of granola recipes, and I’ve finally arrived at my favorite.  I like it because it’s crunchy without being huge hard chunks and it’s very easy to switch up the flavorings .  So, here it is!

Big Batch Granola – adapted from The Homemade Pantry

Makes a lot.  Like 15 or 16 cups.  But it freezes beautifully, so make it all and keep it on hand!

Preheat oven to 250 and put the racks in the upper 2/3 of the oven.  Now, mix the following together in the largest bowl you can find.  No, that bowl isn’t big enough.  Try to find a bigger one.  There ya go.

  • 10 c. old-fashioned oats.
  • 1 c. chopped pecans
  • 1 c. sliced almonds
  • 1/2 c. sunflower seeds (obviously shelled!)
  • 1 c. unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 T. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. allspice
  • 1/4 t. cardamom
  • 1/8 t. nutmeg
  • 1/8 t. cloves

Now whisk together:

  • 1 c. maple syrup
  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 3/4 c. canola oil
  • 1 1/2 T. vanilla
  • 1 1/2 t. almond extract

Pour that over your dry ingredients and really toss everything to make sure it’s all covered with your delicious syrup.

Now spread the unbaked granola on two very big rimmed baking sheets (I use half-sheet pans).  You can line them with parchment, but honestly?  I don’t always.

Bake for 30 minutes; rotate the pans and toss the granola around, and bake for 30 more minutes.  Rotate and toss again, then another 30 minutes.  Now turn the oven off and go have a glass of iced tea.  Your granola can hang out in the oven for hours now, getting all crispy and brown and delicious.  I’d check it every 2 hours or so until it’s just the way you like it.

I find it keeps for a good three+ weeks on the counter in an airtight jar, and then I just refill my jar from the giant bag’s worth I put in the freezer each time I make it.  It’s a great breakfast and JB loves it for a snack.  Sweet, crunchy, spicy…I mean, what’s not to love?