We are getting ever closer to our yearly trip to Colorado.  This is a large family trip including the 5 of us, my parents, and Megan’s 3.  We have started renting a cabin the last few years so we can all stay together, cook together, Scrabble together, etc.  You get the gist.  Usually, the three ladies also head to the mountains with some type of knitting project.  Megan thought about bringing her sewing machine this year but we decided perhaps that was too bulky (and noisy for conversations) so knitting it is.  Therefore, I needed a new project.

Initially, I was going to knit golf club covers, but I got carried away and possibly finished them.  (I was excited!)  **See evidence below.  I know.  I’m weak.  And a nerd.

  Yes.  It’s Yoda.

Next, I thought I would knit a precious baby gnome for my nephew JB who loves them so.  My plan was to knit it on the way and present it to him as a token of my affection when we arrived.  Okay.  So maybe I finished it, too.


In case you’re interested, both of the projects above can be found on Ravelry.

I have successfully found the project to work on.  It is on my table.  Granted, it may have to ride in the hubby’s car until we leave to keep my weak little hands off of it, but so be it. I will be knitting the Sweetheart Socks.  You can find the pattern here.  These are my supplies:

Pattern                Lovely Wool Yarn             Necessary Needles

It is the gosh darn cutest pair of socks.  Granted, it is my first pair of socks so mine may not, in fact, end up being the cutest ever.  It also uses some skills I have not done before so we’ll see.

Wish me luck and strength.   For my knitter friends out there, you know how hard it is to hold off on starting a new project.

And for anybody who might be interested, you can see my completed knitting projects here.

Happy knitting!  And to quote The Lovely Ladies at Loops Knitting,

“May the yarn be ever in your favor!”