Let’s talk exercise.

Ever since I had JB, I haven’t been able to find my groove with working out.  Prior to his birth (and until I was 36 weeks pregnant – high five!), I worked out really consistently 5 – 6 days a week.  See, I used to weigh about 50 pounds more than I do now, and that weight stayed away mostly because I developed a love like tolerance of fairly intense, frequent workouts.  I got back to working out as soon as my doc released me, but it’s never been the same – I maybe get 3 or 4 workouts a week, and they’re nowhere close to how I used to work out.  I really miss feeling fit, and I also miss the sweet, non-prescription bump my mood gets when I’m getting those workouts in.

So, it’s time to make a commitment to really getting back in shape (and maybe, just maybe, seeing my pants loosen a little bit!).  And in a show of sisterly solidarity, Jen is going to join me. Sisters – aren’t they the best?

Here’s the plan: we each are going to pinky-swear to run 3 times each week, and do either yoga or strength-training 2 times per week.  Because we have different fitness goals, we get to decide what exactly that looks like for each of us, but the schedule will be the same for both  We’ll check in here once a week, and also work on other health-related goals as we think we’re ready.

If I lose some weight, I’ll be okay with that because some of my pants are a bit snugger than they need to be, but this isn’t a diet.  It’s about feeling my best, and I truly believe that can happen no matter what I weigh.

We’re kicking things off on Monday, July 9,and I for one can’t wait to challenge myself.  Wish us luck!

*I know, it’s probably copyright-infringement, but it still totally makes me laugh.