As I kicked off my week of the better health challenge* this morning with Cracker Barrel, I pondered what kind of health change I should put into place this week.  Now, before you start thinking, “Hey, I thought this was a health challenge! What the heck is she doing at Cracker Barrel?”  I’ll have you know I had a fruit, yogurt, and granola parfait.  Yes, who knew they had those?!  Actually I did because I’ve watched Meg eat them before.  Rotten do-gooder.  Anyway, it got me thinking about breakfast.

Now, I’m not going to really go into how the health challenge is going (it’s day 1, how do you think it’s going?), but this thinking did spark some cooking so I thought I would share that with you today.

I have been baking up a storm this afternoon as a way to get some healthy breakfast items ready and waiting.  Breakfast is the healthy change I am working on this week.  I am not consistent at all with eating breakfast.  I am aware it is the most important meal of the day but I just can’t seem to make it a habit.  And that’s usually because I am hunting something to eat.  The crazy baking I’m doing today should eliminate some of that, I’m hoping.

So, let’s get started.  I have made three different things today:  Lemon Berry Scones, Big Batch Granola, and Pink Lemonade Confetti Cupcakes (I know, not breakfast.  Treat for the kids.)   Two of the recipes came from the fantastic website, Skinnytaste.  If you’ve never visited, I encourage you to do so.  I have cooked loads of things from it and have never been disappointed.  The third item, Big Batch Granola, is one that Megan posted a while back.  If you missed that post, you can find it here.

The first thing I made was Lemon Cranberry Scones.  These smell amazing and taste even better.  Right before baking you brush them with a combination of lemon juice and sugar.  They use both whole wheat and all purpose flour so they have a really nice texture.   We will be having some of these tonight with eggs and bacon for dinner.  Moderation, people!I also made a batch of Pink Lemonade Funfetti Cupcakes.  This recipe uses a box cake mix but you add pink lemonade powder and lemon zest to the mix.  I used Crystal Light for the powder.  They are super lemony and just a bit tart.  Pretty tasty!  The kids have attempted to eat the entire batch this afternoon.Last and most certainly not least, I am currently making Big Batch Granola (adapted from The Homemade Pantry.)  My house smells amazing just as Megan promised in her post. (And should continue to smell amazing for many more hours as it bakes to perfection!) This will probably be the item I eat the most as I start making breakfast a priority this week.  I love granola with yogurt and fruit.  After all, that is what started this thought process this morning!  You get two pics of it because it looks so yummy!

So, that’s what’s cooking today.  I’ll let you know at the end of the week how the challenge is going.  And between now and then, if you get the chance, try out these recipes.  They are keepers!

* a.k.a. “let’s get physical”, “sweatin’ with the oldies”, or “unshrink my pants”