As you may recall from a previous post, I’m currently letting my pixie cut grow out a bit and trying to embrace my wavy hair. I recently got a haircut (well, technically a mullet-removal) to shape things up a bit and now I have more length on top than the sides and back. My previous wavy-hair products aren’t really working with this cut, so I thought, “Hey! Maybe I’ll try one of those surf sprays! How beachy and fun for summer!” (What, you don’t talk to yourself like that?)

I looked around Pinterest for a few recipes, and settled on this one. It sounded easy enough, just water, gel, and Epsom salts, and in some little corner of my brain, I thought Epsom salts sounded less terrifying than sea salt. Don’t ask me why.

Anyway, you take your water, gel, and Epsom salts and mix them in a spray bottle:

I’d just shaken the spray bottle to mix everything, hence all the foam.  I sprayed this into dry hair and scrunched to encourage all those beachy waves.

This is what I ended up with:

Yes, that’s straw.  Only imagine it on my head.

Suffice to say, I did not look like I’d spent a carefree day at the beach.  I looked a little like a Barbie doll after you’ve tried to style her hair with curling irons and hairspray (you know you did!)   And even after I washed my hair, it still looked sad and unhealthy.  I actually had to go purchase a clarifying shampoo to remove the horrible residue and have human hair again.

I will say this: just because this didn’t work for me doesn’t mean it wouldn’t work for others.  I have pretty fine hair, and I think it just couldn’t tolerate something like this.  I’m not giving up on trying future DIY surf sprays, but this one is going down the sink.