I don’t know how you kill time in your family, but in ours, we have weird little games that we tend to play over and over:  Would You Rather?,  Name the Movie, Name That Tune,  What’s That Smell? (Oh wait, that’s not a game…)  We play them around the dinner table, in the car, waiting in lines, floating in the pool, etc.

One of our favorites is a game I’m going to call “The One Thing.”  Here’s how you play:  Someone asks a question along the lines of, “If you could only _______ one ________ for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?” or  “What is the one ______________________?”  Then everyone else answers.  For example, “If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be and why?” or “What is the one movie you watch every time it’s on and why?”    Get it?  Good.

I thought it might be kind of fun to play that game today.  So, chime in and play along!

“What is your one guilty song pleasure and why?”  (You know the one…you can’t help it!  It just takes hold.  And you sound good as you rock it out.  At the top of your lungs.  For all to hear.)

Jenny:  When I tell you what song it is, you are totally going to laugh and I’m probably going to drop on the coolness scale but it is what it is.  I wish it was something rebellious and dangerous.  Something that would make me look like a bad mamma-jamma.  But it’s not.  My one song is “Wild Montana Skies” by John Denver.  I love John Denver.  We grew up listening to him.  It should be me, not Emmylou Harris, singing harmony because I can knock that part out.  It  just makes me happy.  It’s upbeat and catchy, the harmonies are fun, and it reminds me of being a kid.  It’s on my iPod and I may have on more than one occasion listened to it on repeat.  I can’t help it.  I’m an über-nerd.

Megan:  Dang it, Jenny, I was going to pick a John Denver song!  Now I have to think of another one.  Let’s see……  Oooh!  I know.  My song is…wait for it…”When Doves Cry.”  Yes.  The one by Prince (or a symbol that represents the artist formerly known as – I am not current with the Prince lingo).  It is awesome, and makes me awesome(r) when I sing it.  Loudly.  While Jack says, “No, no, Mommy,” from his car seat.  Yes, that is my song, at least until any Hanson song comes on the radio and I realize I was terribly wrong.

**Your turn!  What is you one song and why?  I fessed up.  Fair is fair.  We’re all friends here, so spill it!