All my life, I’ve considered myself a Reader (note the capital R), someone who always has a book at hand and another in the wings.  I blame my darn book-lovin’ parents (love you, Mom and Dad!).  But I just haven’t done a whole lot of reading the last couple of years.  Wait…what else happened a couple of years ago?  Oh, that’s right – this:Anyway, reading fell off the list for a while, and once I took up sewing, I spent most of what little free time I had doing that.  But these days, I’m making time for books again, and so thought I’d give a little book report of what I’ve just read, what I’m reading, and what’s up next.

READ:  I just finished Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling (whom I really only knew as Kelly Kapoor from The Office).  So funny!  Really, I laughed out loud often and terrorized my husband by attempting to read passages aloud, only to end up giggling too hard to be coherent.  I’d read a different funny book earlier in the summer, so I’ve been trying to find other funny female memoirs, and this one was totally what I was hoping for.

READING: Blehhhhhhh.  As part of my search for funny books, I’d also checked out Notes from the Underwire by Quinn Cummings. It’s not horrible, but I’m about 2/3 of the way through it, and I’ve laughed maybe….four times? That seems unacceptable after the excellent time I had with Mindy Kaling’s book. I should probably stop reading it, but I keep hoping it will get better. It’s kind of the same reason I’ve finished mediocre cookies and horrible movies. What can I say? I’m an optimist!

TO READ: If I don’t finish the Quinn Cummings book, it will probably be because I’m so excited to read The Sandcastle Girls by Chris Bohjalian. I know, it’s definitely not in the female humorous memoir genre I’ve been burying myself in, but I’ve been on the waiting list FOR…EV…ER at the library for this one, and it’s finally my turn!  I’ve enjoyed a few of his books in the past, and this one sounds interesting.  I’ll let you know what I think.

Tell me:  what are you reading now?  And what book do you recommend to everyone?