Pizza is a huge favorite around our house.  It always seems to be a crowd pleaser… if we can agree on toppings.  This is why “Make Your Own Pizza Night” works so well at our house.

Therefore, I thought I would share our family crust recipe* that is darn hard to beat.  Just remember 3-2-1.

  • 3 c. flour (we replace 1 cup with a 1/2 cup each of whole wheat flour and cornmeal)
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tsp of yeast
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup lukewarm water

Combine ingredients and knead until smooth.  I use my Kitchenaid and dough hook.  I let it knead for 5 to 10 minutes until smooth and elastic.  Place in a oiled bowl and cover loosely with plastic wrap.  Place in a warm, draft-free place until double in size; this generally takes about an hour but you could stretch it to two if need be.  Turn dough out on floured counter and divide in two.  Cover and let rest for 20 minutes.  Preheat oven as hot as it will go. (Mine is 525°)  Preheat baking stone (or upside down cookie sheet) as well.  Pat out dough to size and thickness desired.  I usually do this step on foil and make it roughly the same size as my cookie sheet.  Top as desired.  Bake in oven about 10 – 12 minutes depending on your oven temp, until cheese is melted and gooey and bottom of crust is golden brown (like this, only before someone has been munching on it):

There you have it.  It’s easy and a total winner.  According to Megan,  this dough freezes beautifully, but my family always manages to eat it in one fell swoop.

 *And when I say “family”, it’s totally from Megan.  I just pretend it’s mine**.

**Very much like the corn salad I bring to every picnic.  Totally Mom’s recipe.