I like to live with the delusion that wearing a necklace makes my Mom-Uniform of rolled-up pants and t-shirts more stylish, so while I don’t wear a lot of other jewelry, I usually put on a necklace.  I’ve liked the chunky, bright ones that have been everywhere lately, so when I saw this handmade bauble necklace tutorial from A Beautiful Mess, I knew I definitely wanted to try it.

It’s really simple – paint wooden beads with acrylic paint, then seal with a gloss. After they’re dry, string them on a cord.I found it helpful to find something to put the beads on while painting – for the larger beads, I jammed them onto the end of drinking straw, and for the smaller ones, I found that three toothpicks fit snugly, and also allowed me to stab them into styrofoam while they were drying.  Total win.  Also, if you have a toddler assistant who is willing to organize your paint bottles (as pictured) while you’re working, it’s really helpful.

I didn’t have any leather cord for stringing, so I decided to use ribbon.  

I actually like the ribbon better; I can just tie the necklace in a bow at whatever length I prefer.  Plus, I can change out the beads and/or ribbon color whenever I want.

I really love this project; I made two necklaces in about 40 minutes (not including drying time, of course), and it was so inexpensive.  You can get a bag of 30 wooden beads at JoAnn’s for $4.99 (though I had a 40% off coupon, so only paid $3), the gloss was $3.99 at Hobby Lobby (again, though, I used a 40% off coupon, so it was only $2.40 really and I have enough left to make about 20 more necklaces), the ribbon was a dollar, and the paint was from my craft closet.

I’m definitely going to make more, because I love it and also because Jenny seems to have taken a shine to the orange one when she took it “for pictures”:Well played, Jenny.  Well played.