I know it’s technically not fall until Saturday (and the 90° day we’re having here today is hardly autumnal), but all it takes is a few cool mornings, and I’m totally ready for pumpkins and sweaters and apple cider.  It makes me want to start planning ways to cozy up our little nest here.

I haven’t been making much progress on the slow and steady living room re-do (well, there’s been mental progress, but I haven’t brought the ideas to fruition yet), but I’ve tackled a couple of things to get ready for fall.  First, we (and by “we,” I mean “the tall man who lives in my house and brings me coffee”) painted the wall in our entryway with chalkboard paint:

It’s the first thing you see when you walk in our house, and I think it will be fun to have an ever-changing wall there.  After I conditioned it and wiped it down this morning, JB and I did a little artwork.  Nothing confirms that one should have buckled down during penmanship lessons a bit more than seeing one’s handwriting 12 inches tall.  Oh, well.

I also updated my front door wreath:I just noticed how faded the top part of the wreath is – looks like I’ll have to add a fresh piece of burlap there.  Anyway, I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out.  I wanted something really simple, so I just cut out a billion little felt leaves and broke out my new free-motion foot to sew the veins on them:It was a little terrifying, sewing with the feed dogs down, but it was fun to play with the foot before I start quilting with it.   I had a lot of leaves left, so I’ve hung them in different places around the house; if Oklahoma autumn can’t provide the fall color I want, I can just make my own!And because I’m the highly suggestible sort, all the talk of arsenic in rice these past few days made me crave crispy treats, so I made these:Yummy.  But I’ll try not to eat the whole pan, what with the poison and all…

Tell me: how are you getting ready for fall?