Last week, Megan featured a recipe from our mom for our newest feature:https://boomtownsisters.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/kitchen-banner1.jpg

This week, I thought I would take a turn.  When Megan and I were little girls, our church would have these unbelievable potluck dinners.  And there were always certain dishes you looked forward to.  Those tried and true staples that if the chef even considered bringing something different, a coup was bound to break out.

Christine’s Chicken Casserole is one of those dishes. Dean and Christine were this wonderful couple that I was fortunate to know through much of my childhood.  They came from the same holler as Roy Rogers and were amazing.  Dean could play a mean guitar, banjo, you name it.  He spent years making guitars for Gibson and as a studio musician for tons of famous musicians.  He even toured with Little Jimmy Dickens.  And Christine was one of those chefs I spoke of earlier.  She always brought this rich warm chicken casserole that I probably single-handedly packed away at least half of!

If I’ve had a rough day or it’s cold and dreary outside, I crave this casserole.  It’s totally decadent and comforting.  It’s the food of my childhood and it conjures some of my best memories.

Christine’s Chicken Casserole

  • Cook two whole chicken breasts in salted water.  Remove skin/bones and cut into chunks
  • In 2 cups of chicken broth, cook 2 cups of chopped celery and 1 cup of rice about 15 minutes.   Stir until broth is cooked down.
  • Combine rice and chicken with 2 cups* Hellman’s Mayonnaise and 2 cans cream of chicken soup.
  • Put in a 9X13 dish, put on topping** and bake in a 325° oven for 1 hour.
  • *Christine said be sure to use Hellman’s-no other will do.                   **Topping:  2 cups cornflake crumbs & 1 stick melted margarine

This recipe is not the most health conscious of dishes but I feel there’s a time and place for those true blue classics.

And it makes me happy sharing the dish and the stories of my youth with my family.