Earlier this week, I posted my menu and my plan to cook from the recipes I pinned to Pinterest.  It’s gone really well!  We’ve tried so many amazing things.

Therefore for this week’s Pin-tential, I’m going to highlight one of the big hits at our house:  Chicken Tamale Pie.   It comes from the site Pinch of Yum as part of a cheeky article on healing foods.

The recipe calls for two cups of cooked chicken so I threw a whole chicken in the crock pot on Sunday.  If you’ve never cooked an entire chicken in the crock pot, please do so.  It creates lovely moist chicken that is perfect for so many different recipes (not to mention the fantastic homemade chicken stock you’ll have when it’s finished.)

It goes together pretty easy.  Let me give you a quick run-down.  You make the cornbread base, bake it just until set but not completely cooked through.  Poke full of holes and pour on enchilada sauce.  Top with taco-seasoned shredded chicken and cheese.  Return to oven until brown and bubbly.  When it comes out, it looks like this:We topped it with a little sour cream and guacamole.  It received high praise from our family and the leftovers were just as tasty.  This is an absolute keeper to add to the repertoire.

So, if you have a craving for Tex-Mex, give this recipe a try.  It will most definitely fit the bill.