So it continues. My obsession with finding the best doughnut recipes. Something about those perfectly-shaped, deliciously-scented rings of sweet goodness.

A couple of weeks ago while buying groceries, I threw a few cans of pumpkin in my cart on a whim. Actually, less of a whim and more of a calculated decision. I love pumpkin and I knew I would find a use for it.
And I did: Pumpkin-Spice Doughnuts I pinned on Pinterest a while back.  (Find the recipe here!) The recipe comes from King Arthur Flour and is not the first doughnut recipe of theirs I have tried. This recipe is just as tasty as the others from their site.

I am fortunate enough to own two doughnut pans (technically, they’re Mom’s but what’s hers is mine…)  The reason I say fortunate is because I managed to get 16 doughnuts out of this recipe.  If I were only able to bake 6 at a time, I would have spent some serious kitchen time and drank way more coffee than I needed.

These little beauties are heavily spiced and use almost an entire can of pumpkin.  The texture is lovely and the aroma is to die for.  While they are still warm but not fragile, they get tossed in a spiced sugar mix.  Oh heavens. 

Yeah…I couldn’t be bothered to take the time to toss this one in spiced sugar.  I ate it warm.  I’m weak.

They are amazing.  You could totally bake these as muffins but there is something about the surface area you get on a doughnut that is missing on a muffin.  So do it.  Invest in doughnut pans.  You won’t be sorry.

And if you are, just send them to me.  I’ll put them to good use.

And I might even share.