Let’s talk hair, y’all.

As you may recall, I’m currently growing my hair out, and this has presented me with a conundrum: how to deal with the summer highlights without just chopping them off.  In the past when I was rockin’ the pixie, I never had to worry about my hair getting weird faded-out parts because it was constantly getting cut, but now that’s not an option.

I don’t want to color my hair with chemicals because I colored my hair regularly for about a decade and I am OVER THAT.  Too much upkeep!  And I have almost no gray (Did you read that, Jen?  Almost none!) so covering anything isn’t an issue.  What I wanted was a simple way to make my brown hair a little deeper and richer. So off to the internets I went!

I pinned this treatment from Whole Living a while back and decided this was the one to try; the ingredients were all in my pantry and I was pretty sure it wouldn’t make my hair smell weird, which cannot be said of some of the other suggestions I ran across.

To make it, you combine 1/2 c. plain yogurt, 1/2 c. cocoa, and a teaspoon each of apple cider vinegar and honey.  At this stage, it looks like a little like breakfast:You then stir that into a thick paste; learn from me and use a big bowl, lest you cover everything with a fine dusting of cocoa.  Now it will look like this:It smells really chocolately, and I briefly considered abandoning this whole project and just making some brownies.  But I pressed on!

To use it, you wash your hair with shampoo, wring out the excess water and apply the paste; leave it on for 2 – 3 minutes.  Enjoy standing there in the shower dripping brownish water – you’ll never feel prettier, I promise!

Then you rinse and style as usual (I conditioned, too, because it felt it needed it).

I’m sorry I don’t have awesome before and after pictures to show (because I am essentially incapable of taking a non-crazy picture of myself), so you’ll just have to take my word:

This kind of worked!!

It’s subtle, but my hair really does appear deeper and richer.  My highlights are a bit darker and everything just looks brighter and less drab.  I will say that the amount of paste the recipe made was easily twice what I needed for my short hair, so next time (and there will be next time!) I’ll make a half-batch.  I’m pretty excited about how this worked out.  It’s something I could do whenever I felt things needed a little brightening without having to deal with the hassles of actually coloring my hair.

If you’re not a brunette like me, the Whole Living site also has boosters for blondes and redheads as well.  If you try this or any of the others out, let me know what you think!