I am not a huge sweet eater.  I have a tendency to prefer salty snacks.  But I have a weakness for cookies.  Specifically Chocolate Chip Cookies.

So, a while back I pinned a recipe for some cookies that sounded interesting.  They had chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, and pretzels.  This is right up my alley.  I totally dig that whole salty sweet combination and I figured these were sure to fit the bill.

Wow.  Was I ever right!  The recipe comes from Une Gamine dans la Cuisine, and is listed as a reader favorite.  You can find the recipe here.  It’s an adaptation from Alton Brown’s The Chewy.

The recipe begins with browning butter.  The last time I browned butter, I was making toffee.  (mmm…toffee.  Give me a moment.  Okay.  I’m back.)  Browning butter is an easy process but you really have to watch it.  It only takes seconds to go from beautifully browned butter to disgustingly burned butter.

The browning of the butter just creates a rich deep flavor.  Then you combine it with the usual suspects that go into cookies:  sugar, flour, eggs, vanilla, etc.  Once its all mixed together, you add a half cup each of chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, and broken pretzels.

Now comes the hard part:  you have to refrigerate the cookie dough for at least 8 hours!  Torture.  But it has to be done.  It allows the dough to get really firm so the cookies don’t spread out too much and stay thick and chewy.

Once the dough is well chilled, you roll the dough into balls, press slightly flat, and sprinkle them with coarse sea salt if you like.  Which, of course, I did like.  Here’s the before:And after a 10 minute trip through a 350° oven, here’s the after:You want to make these cookies.  If you’re anything like me, you probably have most of the ingredients on hand.  It’s not the quickest recipe with the browning of the butter and the 8 hour chilling time, but it is completely worth the wait.  They are chewy, buttery, salty, sweet, and crisp all at the same time.  They keep well and the kids are really loving them in their lunch this week.

There are loads of other tasty lookin’ recipes on her site so if you try any others out, let me know!