I finished making new cushions for my old lady chair last week, and I have to say, I’m pretty proud of myself:

I’d never made a boxed and welted cushion before, and this was also my first time tackling a home dec zipper (which I kind of love now).  I’m really happy with the seat cushion! I plan to make another cover in a print or color now that I’ve figured things out.  I’ll only make a few changes;  the cushion is wider at the front than the back, and it would have been much easier to use a longer zipper that wrapped around the sides and had deeper pockets in the gusset to hide the ends.

I’m not 100% happy with the back cushion; as you can see, the “after” cushion angles in quite a bit more than the “before” cushion.  It’s completely comfortable though, and my old-lady afghan covers it, so I can live with it until I make another one.   I also had to make a new little throw pillow for the chair; I love, love, love the Nicey Jane line of fabric from Heather Bailey, so I’m going to recover a lot of the pillows in the living room with some of the prints.  The yellow/green/blue combo is the direction I seem to be leaning for living room colors (I think of it as “map-inspired”!) – it finally feels like I have a direction to work in!

And in one last bit of sewing news, I’ve decided I’m going to spend fall/winter working through this book:

I’ve had Design-It-Yourself Clothes by Cal Patch for a few months now, but had enough other projects in the works I hadn’t done more than look through it longingly.  But now that I have nothing major stacked up by my sewing machine, I’m ready to tackle it.  First up will be a skirt (why don’t I wear more skirts??  It would solve almost all of my lower body v. clothing manufacturers issues!).  I’ll let you know how it goes!