Chicken and Noodles are comfort in a bowl.  The aroma as they simmer is intoxicating.  Your kitchen becomes a warm, inviting place.  My Mom’s Chicken and Noodles are unbelievably amazing.

This From the kitchen of…is a combined effort, though.  I was a teenager before I knew that the noodles were actually my Mom’s Aunt Louella’s recipe.  I just always assumed it was Mom’s.  But honestly, knowing that the noodle recipe I make came through two generations (who knows, possibly more) before it made it to me is pretty neat.

Chicken and Noodles (using Aunt Louella’s Noodle recipe)

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 eggs (well beaten)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup cold water (add to eggs)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

Mix all ingredients.  Roll thin on floured surface.*  Slice and allow to dry (which can take a bit, the drier the better).  Cook in broth.  Mom adds shredded chicken, onions, and a can of cream of chicken soup to the broth.

*You want the surface to be pretty heavily floured.  Not only does it keep the noodles from sticking, it also clings to the noodles and helps thicken the broth.

This is a very hearty soup.  It’s thick and rich, perfect for a rainy, cold day.  My family loves it and it reheats really well.

And each time I make them, my kitchen smells just like my childhood.

Which is a comforting, happy feeling.