Since Thanksgiving is this week, we thought we’d feature a few favorite recipes that always show up on the holiday table.
Hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

Growing up, my mom always made the pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving and I loved it.  One of my favorite things was having a slice of leftover pie the day after Thanksgiving for breakfast – we never had pumpkin pie except for the holidays, and so I made sure I ate my fill.

When I became an adult and discovered I liked baking, pie-making for Thanksgiving got handed off to me.   And for the first time in my entire life, I ended up making a version of something that was actually (*gasp*) better than my mom’s.  My mom’s pumpkin pie is great, but this pumpkin pie is amazing.  It’s extra spicy and perfectly creamy – definitely the best pumpkin pie I’ve ever had.  I can’t really take the credit – I found the recipe years ago in some now-forgotten magazine – but I still think of it as “my pumpkin pie.”  This is the recipe I’ll hand off to JB some day.

The Best Pumpkin Pie

1 crust for single-crust pie (homemade or store-bought)
1 15 oz. can pumpkin puree
3/4 c. sugar
1 1/4 t. cinnamon
1 t. ginger
1/2 t. salt
1/2 t. nutmeg
1/2 t. cloves
3 eggs, slightly beaten
1 1/4 c. whole milk

Roll out your crust and place in pie plate (deep dish not necessary).  Preheat oven to 375°.  In a large bowl, combine pumpkin, sugar, spices and salt.  Beat eggs in lightly with a fork until combined.  Stir in milk gradually.  Pour into pie crust.  Shield edges of crust with foil and bake for 30 minutes.  Remove the foil and bake for another 25 – 30 minutes, until knife inserted near center comes out clean.  Cool on rack and refrigerate when cool.

You’re probably going to want to make two.  I mean, you’re going to need breakfast the next day, after all…