For years, I thought all Sweet Potato Casserole came topped with marshmallows.

Now, don’t get me wrong; I love marshmallows.  S’mores? Yummy.  Rocky Road Ice Cream? Yes please.  But I’ve always had a hard time with marshmallows and sweet potatoes together.  In fact, I just never really liked sweet potatoes at all because I was under the impression that was the way to eat them.

Then, many years ago, I ended up at Mike’s parents’ house on Thanksgiving.  I’m not sure if we were even married yet if that tells you how long ago it was (at least 17 years!)

Mike’s mom, Sue, had made Sweet Potato Casserole.  My plan was to try it because I wanted to be a good guest and not offend my soon to be mother-in-law.  I figured it would be like all sweet potato casseroles that had come before.  Then I saw it: golden brown, bubbly, covered with a crispy streusel topping.

I have a weakness for streusel.

I’m pretty sure I ate at least 3 servings.  I truly believe that casserole began my love of sweet potatoes (and sealed my love of my mother-in-law!)

Sweet Potato Casserole

  • 4 15-oz. cans sweet potatoes (mashed)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 C. brown sugar
  • 1/3 C. milk
  • 1/2 C. butter (melted)
  • 1 t. vanilla

(These spices can vary – adjust to taste)

  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

Mix all of the above ingredients together with a mixer.  Spread into a greased 9 X 13 baking dish.

TOPPING: (Totally the best part!)
  • 1/2 C. nuts
  • 2 1/2 Tbs butter (melted)
  • 1/4 C. flour
  • 1/2 C. brown sugar.

Mix together topping and sprinkle on top of potatoes.  Bake for 25 minutes at 350°.

I unfortunately don’t have a picture of the casserole, so please enjoy this picture of some very attractive children on Thanksgiving Day 2011.

This casserole is good.  Amazingly good.  Like, you must eat of all me in one sitting rather than sharing with others, good.  It completely changed my opinion of sweet potatoes.

If you don’t have a go-to sweet potato casserole, give this one a try.  I can’t imagine you’ll be sorry.

That Sue…she’s a keeper!