I think one of my favorite things about learning to sew this past year is being able to make things for myself that otherwise I’d have to have gone in search of.  This week’s Pin-tential is just one of those times!

JB is getting big these days, and soon we won’t be able to jam him into his high chair without greasing him like a pig.  It’s time to think about him joining us as the table, but if he sits in the chair, his nose is at table-height – not exactly great for eating.

I found this tutorial for a booster seat cushion at Smashed Peas and Carrots ages ago, and pinned it knowing that I’d eventually be making it; today was the day.

It’s a super-easy project using inexpensive materials – totally in my wheelhouse!  You cut two squares out of a vinyl tablecloth, box the corners of the larger one, and sew them together, leaving a small opening.  Stuff with poly-fil, handsew closed, and place toddler on top.

It took almost no time to make this sucker and I love that I spent only $3.25 on the giant tablecloth that I’m sure I can get many more projects out of.  If I had any complaint, it’d be that the cushion is really soft, even when stuffed super-full like mine.  JB ends up sinking down after he sits there a bit, and while he’s still higher than he’d be without the cushion, it’s only by a few inches.  If I were to make another one, I might try using foam instead.  Of course, then it’s much more expensive and has a completely different look/feel, so it’s pretty much a different project at that point.

For our purposes, this one will work fine.  It can be wiped clean, gives him just enough extra height he can sit at the table without being uncomfortable, and did I mention it costs next to nothing?  Yeah, I like that part a lot.  All in all, it was a pretty successful pin!