I love salty snacks.  I’ve mentioned before that I don’t have much of a sweet tooth.  But give me something crunch and salty, I’m set.

And if you can make it spicy, even better.

So, I’d like to share one of our favorite salty and spicy snacks that we enjoy at our house.  The first few times I made these crackers, I made them with a box of Saltines.  It’s really good.  But then last week, I thought I’d do the same seasoning but change it up a bit.  Whoa.  Even better!

Therefore, without further ado, here’s the recipe!

Pepper Ranch Crackers

  • 1/2 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1 pkg of dry Ranch seasoning (I use Hidden Valley, but I’m sure you could make your own.  Maybe try this recipe?)
  • Red Pepper Flakes (I use about a tablespoon, but we like it spicy!)
  • 1 lg bag of plain Corn Nuts
  • 1 regular size bag of oyster crackers
  • 1 bag of pretzels
  • 1 box of Cheez-its

In a measuring cup, combine the oil, Ranch seasoning, and red pepper.  Mix well.  Place crackers/Corn Nuts in a large bowl.  Pour seasoning mixture over crackers and toss to coat.  Stir every 30 minutes for the next two hours to “meld” the flavors.  *After two hours, I turn the crackers out on a brown paper sack or newspaper to absorb any leftover oil.

Store in an airtight container.  And voila!

I honestly can’t tell you how long these will keep because they never last long.  (I made a batch last Tuesday and it was gone by Saturday night.)

Now it’s your turn…what’s your favorite salty snack?  I’m always looking for new savory snacks to try!