It’s that time of year, y’all – time to put on your Christmas sweater, pour a cup of hot cocoa, and deck the halls!

What’s that? You don’t have a Christmas sweater? Yeah, me neither. But this year, I’m finding myself really smitten with the classic ski sweater design, with the Nordic star and little deer and all that. I can’t picture myself wearing one, but I wanted to bring a little of that festive kitsch into my home, without alienating my husband. So I made this:

As projects go, this one is fairly self-explanatory, but here goes:

Begin by choosing your pillow size – I went with a 20-inch pillow because that’s what I had on hand.  You’ll need two different fabrics – enough to cover your pillow of one fabric, and (if you’re using my star template, which gives you a final design of 17″ x 17″) then two strips of your second fabric that are 3.5″ by width of fabric.  You’ll only use about half of the second strip, but it’s just easier to cut it that way.  But if you’re using scraps, each star is 3.5″ by 8.75″ and you’ll need enough fabric to cut 8.  You’ll also need Wonder Under, or whatever is your preferred fusible web.

1.  Make your pillow cover.  There are a lot of tutorials out there for pillow covers if you haven’t done this before: button-closure,  envelope, zippered.  I like a zippered cover (though my method is a little different than the one I linked to above) because I think they’re sort of fun to make.

2.  Cut your strips of fabric, and your strips of Wonder Under.  I cut three 3.5 inch strips of Wonder Under by the width of it, and that was plenty.  Fuse your strips to the fusible web per the directions.

3.  Print the star template if you’re using my dimensions, cut out, and then cut 8 of the diamond shapes from your fabric strips.

4.  Place the 8 diamonds onto your pillow cover and fuse according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Pop your pillow into its new cover and go make yourself some cocoa – you’ve earned it!