Tags

,

12 days of sugarIt’s funny that Meg and I have chosen to do a series on sweet treats because I’ve never had a huge sweet tooth.  Most times, I would take a salty treat over something sweet every day of the week.

Except during the holiday season.  Something about this time of year makes me want to make candy, doughnuts, and cake.  Oh, and brownies. And cobbler.  And, heaven forbid, we can’t forget pie.

But probably my favorite thing to make, second only to doughnuts, is cupcakes.  Tiny food is a personal favorite of mine.  Maybe it’s because I refer myself as “Fun-Size” so I feel I can relate.  Plus, cupcakes are great this time of year as you start attending holiday gatherings.  It’s so much easier to visit and eat a cupcake  than juggling a plate at your next party.

These cupcakes are tasty little morsels chock full of coconut, pineapple, and zucchini.  And bonus:  they are topped with a luscious layer of cream cheese frosting.   The recipe comes from one of my favorite websites, Skinnytaste.

Cupcakes

Pineapple Zucchini Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup flaked coconut
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 pinch ginger
2 tbsp coconut oil (or vegetable oil)
2 whole large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups grated zucchini, unpeeled, squeezed well
20 oz. can crushed pineapple in juice, drained well

Preheat oven to 350°. Line a cupcake tin with cupcake liners.  In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, coconut, baking soda, salt, and spices; stir well with a whisk.  In a medium bowl, combine oil, eggs, and vanilla; stir well. Add grated zucchini and pineapple; mix well.  Combine wet and dry ingredients until incorporated.  Spoon batter into cupcake tin. Bake for about 23 minutes, or until a wooden toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool completely on a wire rack.

For the Frosting:
8 oz 1/3 fat cream cheese
1 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla

To prepare frosting, beat together cream cheese, powdered sugar and vanilla until smooth. Spread or pipe frosting over the cupcakes once they are cooled.

Try these out for your next holiday get-together.  They are a sweet and spicy, moist and delicious treat!  Or just make a batch and share them with those you love.*

Oh my

*Or you could just eat them all yourself.  I won’t tell.