Tags

,

Of all the transitions in my life, I think becoming a stay-at-home mom has been the most challenging.  First, there was the fatigue; JB didn’t sleep more than four hours at a stretch until he was 7 months old, and I barely remember anything from those days because I was so tired.  Then there was the trapped-in-the-house stage, when he was taking two naps a day and going to bed at 6:30; I felt utterly alone and isolated, never leaving the house for more than an hour or so at a time.

But now that he’s two and only napping once a day, plus learning to play independently for stretches of time (okay, like 20 minutes, but that’s three hours in toddler time!!), I’m feeling more comfortable in this role.  One thing that remains challenging for me, though, is managing the entire household.  I’m a pretty good mom, but I struggle with keeping everything else around the house running to my liking.  Although I’ve tried, I haven’t had much success at implementing a schedule  or system – I start off strong (possibly too strong) and then falter as things begin to feel overwhelming.  In truth, I really just want someone to tell me what to do.

And now someone is going to!  I’d been looking for different ways to approach homekeeping, and I found this:The Confident Mom Weekly Household Planner!

This is the 2013 Weekly Household Planner from The Confident Mom. Y’all, it’s awesome.  Every day has its very own checklist of things to accomplish that day, from changing the sheets to cleaning the toaster’s crumb tray to watering the plants (oh, all the plants I’ve killed by forgetting to water them…)  I seriously love a checklist, so having one every day to give me a sense of control is exciting.  And the fact that someone has done the work for me in terms of giving me structure?  Well, it’s just what I’ve been looking for.

The Planner also includes daily tasks that are so important for the caretakers among us – tasks like “exercise” and “pamper yourself” and “drink water.”  I love that it encourages me to take a few minutes in the day to make sure I’m feeling my best, too.

I can hardly wait for the year to get started so I can begin using my new planner!Planning time!

Tell me: how do you other parents out there stay on top of your households?