Tags

When I first met Taller Half’s family all those years ago, I was introduced to two things that I’d never heard of before:  the board game Wahoo and Rice Krispie Treats.

I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking, “Megan, how had you never heard of Rice Krispie Treats?”  Well, I had – just not their version of them.  My Rice Krispie Treats were the usual blend of marshmallow and butter and cereal.

Theirs?  Totally different.  Totally decadent.  And totally better than mine.

Now for all our get-togethers, Taller Half is expected to make these.   I won’t say it’s the reason I married him….but let’s say it factored into the decision.

Rice Krispie Treats

Rice Krispie Treats

1 generous cup of light corn syrup
1 generous cup of peanut butter
6 c. rice cereal
1 c. chocolate chips
1 c. butterscotch chips

Melt together corn syrup and peanut butter in saucepan over low heat. Remove from heat and stir in rice cereal. Press into 9″ x 13″ baking dish.

Melt together both chips in a small saucepan over low heat.  When combined, spread over the top of the rice treats in dish.  Refrigerate until set, then cut into bars.

Rice Krispie Treats