I love the smell of fresh baked bread.  I remember as a kid being unbelievably excited when we drove pass the Wonder Bread bakery.  It always smelled so good.

And to this day, that smell takes me back. Each week when our school cafeteria bakes rolls, I’m right back there and totally happy.  And hungry!

About a year ago, the Hubs’s employer compiled a cookbook.  This little gem, Farmer’s Bread, was buried deep within.  It is foolproof.  And it only takes three ingredients.  I’ve discovered the cheaper the beer, the better the bread!  Don’t use your favorite dark imported beer here.  I keep good ol’ Budweiser in the can specifically for this recipe.Farmer's Bread

Farmer’s Bread

3 cups self-rising flour
3 tablespoons sugar (or honey)
12 oz beer
1 tablespoon butter, melted

Preheat oven to 450.  Add the beer to the flour and sugar and stir until combined.  Place in a greased loaf pan. Bake for 25 minutes.  Brush the top with butter.  Return to oven for 10 minutes.  Let cool 10 minutes in pan then allow to cool completely on rack.

This stuff is amazing!  It’s slightly sweet, has a great texture, and complements any meal.  So try it out!