Tags

,

As part of my “Be Disciplined” guidepost this year, I’m trying to eat better breakfasts.  My breakfasts are rarely super-unhealthy – no doughnuts or fistfuls of bacon – but they are often a little light on veggies or fruit.

I know I prefer savory foods right now and I always like eggs, so when I saw this recipe from Iowa Girl Eats, I knew it would be worth trying.  I changed it up a little based on what I had on hand and what flavors I like, and I really love the end result. I’m calling them “Lorraine” because they remind me a little of Quiche Lorraine what with the Swiss cheese, only healthier with the ham instead of bacon.  Heck, you could even use Canandian bacon if you want to make them even a bit leaner.  Either way, these little quinoa cups are packed with protein and are super tasty.

Combined with a piece of fruit, a few of these make a really satisfying breakfast that also makes me feel like I’m taking care of myself.  Try them!

Lorraine Quinoa Cups @ Boomtown Sisters

Mini Lorraine Quinoa Cups

1 1/2 c. cooked quinoa
2 whole eggs
2 egg whites
1/2 c. diced ham
3/4 c. shredded Swiss cheese
2 handfuls of baby spinach, wilted and chopped
2 t. Dijon mustard
a pinch of nutmeg
salt + pepper

Preheat oven to 350°.  Liberally (like, really, really, really liberally) spray a mini muffin tin with cooking spray.  Mix together all the ingredients, and fill the muffin tin; you can fill them right to the top as they won’t really change size.  Bake for 15 – 20 minutes, until brown around the edges.  Let rest in pan for 10 minutes, then loosen and remove.  If you didn’t spray the pan enough, they may stick a bit, but be gentle and persevere – they’ll still taste good!  Makes about 22.

Lorraine Quinoa Cups @ Boomtown Sisters