Tags

,

This Has Pin-Tential!Ages ago, I pinned a tutorial for a Wire-Wrapped Bird’s Nest Necklace from Lisa’s Craft Blog.  Every so often I would revisit it and think, “I really want to make that.”  But then, I’d move on to some other project.

However, tomorrow is our Mom’s birthday.  And Mom likes birds.  She has a martin house, bluebird houses, and a never-empty hummingbird feeder.  You see the logical progression here, don’t you?  Mom would obviously love a Bird’s Nest Necklace.

And she would especially adore a handmade-with-love necklace featuring four bead eggs to represent her precious grandchildren.

And I may or may not have had almost all of the supplies on hand.

Win-Win…

The Supply List

  • 24 gauge wire (I had 22 on hand, so that’s what I used)
  • beads
  • jump rings
  • necklace
  • jewelry pliers

The Process (the quick version*)

Thread the beads onto a length of wire, stopping about 8 inches from one end.  Cross the wires to secure the beads then wrap the short end around and under the beads for support.  Tuck the end of the wire inside.  Then take the long end and wrap it around the outside of the beads until you have approximately 1 yard left.  Thread the wire between two beads from the inside toward the outside of the nest.  Wrap the wire a few times in this manner.  Repeat between each pair of beads.  Weave end through looped sections and tuck inside.  Use the jewelry pliers to add texture by kinking and bending wires.  Attach a jump ring to one of your looped sections.  Then add a second jump ring to the first so the nest doesn’t twist.

The Results

Bird's Nest NecklaceI think she’s going to love it!  And I may just have to make one for myself!

*Find the full, fantastic tutorial here.