Tags

I decided this week to take a page out of Jenny’s book and do a little selfish sewing.  It’s been a while since I’ve made anything for myself (pillowcases don’t count!) and I want to make some clothes for myself.  I’m working on drafting a skirt pattern from the book I’ve mentioned before, but in the meantime, I wanted to make something from a professional pattern that I could actually wear out of the house.

See, while I have sewn a few garments for myself, I’ve not had a tremendous amount of success.  I’ve got a pretty good skirt pattern down, and I’ve made a dress that is cute and totally wearable, but most of the shirts I’ve made have turned out to be….clearly homemade. Not “handmade,” as in charming, but “homemade” as in turned out by an 8th grader in home ec class in 1985.  I’ve only been sewing for a year, and so I’m pretty much okay with my failures – I know I still have tons to learn.  But I also know the only way to learn is by getting in there and making stuff, so that’s what I’ve been doing.

This week during naptimes, I started working on this pattern:portfolio pattern

I’m making the tunic (the green top in the picture) out of a seersucker I had on hand; it’s not exactly a winter-friendly fabric, but I wanted to make a muslin that could end up wearable and that’s what I had enough yardage in.

On Monday, I traced the pattern and cut it out.  Tuesday, I cut out the fabric.  On Wednesday and Thursday, I worked on putting it together and adjusting the fit.  Because I’m pear-shaped, I had to grade out two sizes in the hip area; I’ve been really taking my time to get the fit right.  All I have left to do is the neckline and the hem.  I’m very excited, because although it looked like it was going to be a shent* when it was there on my table, as soon as I put it on, I loved it.  I think it will look super-cute with skinny jeans and boots with a long-sleeved tee layered underneath this winter, and would be adorable with cuffed jeans and sandals in the spring.  I’m already planning to make another with the longer sleeve in a corduroy; I suspect I’m going to end up with several versions of this pattern!

As soon as I finish it, I’ll post a pic – I can’t wait to wear it out of the house!

*Shent = a shirt-tent.  Like maternity-wear.  Not exactly what you want to wear if not pregnant.