Tags

, ,

New year?  Fresh start.

I’ve been working over the last two weeks trying to streamline and organize.  But after discovering 3 bags of chocolate chips and 2 bags of brown sugar, I decided it was time to organize and relocate my baking supplies.

I really enjoy baking…when I can find the things I need.  Unfortunately, my baking supplies were inhabiting a very small, very high, AND very deep shelf.  I found myself on a bar stool every time I wanted to bake because otherwise, I couldn’t reach the shelf.   Not only that, I was constantly buying things I already had because everything was so cramped, I had no clue what I had on hand.

So, Sunday afternoon, I tackled the shelf.  I did a switcharoo with my pantry and baking supplies.  With just a couple of hours, some jars and baskets, and a bit of elbow grease, I have a super functional baking center.  It makes me so happy!  I just want to hang out in my kitchen and admire it!Baking Center And in honor of my new and improved baking center, my favorite doughnut recipe (courtesy of King Arthur Flour)!

Chocolate Chip Doughnuts with Almond Glaze

  • 1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) butter
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 2/3 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate mini chips

Preheat the oven to 425°F. Lightly grease two standard doughnut pans.   In a medium-sized mixing bowl, beat together the butter, vegetable oil, and sugars until smooth.  Add the eggs, beating to combine.  Stir in the baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg, salt, and vanilla.  Stir the flour into the butter mixture alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour and making sure everything is thoroughly combined.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Spoon the batter into the lightly greased doughnut pans, filling the wells to the rim.  Bake the doughnuts for 10 minutes. Remove them from the oven, and wait 5 to 7 minutes before turning them out of the pans onto a rack.

Once cool, dip tops into the almond glaze.

Almond Glaze:  Combine 1 cup of powdered sugar with 1/4 tsp almond extract and 1 to 2 tablespoons of milk until dipping consistency.  I usually add 2 or 3 drops of red food coloring to make it pink.

Chocolate Chip Doughnuts with Almond Glaze