Tags

,

Let’s be honest here. We are smack dab in the middle of winter, and our skin is probably starting to show it. I know that my hands have gotten downright crocodilian – all the handwashing that comes from mothering a toddler and surviving flu season takes a toll.

A while back, I pinned several pins about making hard lotion bars and I decided now was the time to try it. I looked at a few different methods and settled on this one from Frugal by Choice, Cheap by Necessity.  It uses fairly easy-to-find ingredients – I picked up the beeswax at Hobby Lobby (with my 40% off coupon – woo!) and the almond oil and coconut oil at the grocery store.

The method is simple.  Melt everything together in a double boiler, pour into molds, and let set. Jen and I fashioned a double boiler out of a glass batter bowl on top of a saucepan – it ended up working perfectly because of the little spout for pouring.  We didn’t have molds, so we poured our bars into a muffin tin and a mini-muffin tin.  Because it was cold that day and we are impatient, we set our pans out on the back porch to cool.  They set up in probably 20 minutes or so, and popped right out of the pans.  And look!Aren't they adorable?

Aren’t they adorable?  We used about 14 oz. of each of our three ingredients, and it made a ton of bars.  They work really nicely!  You rub them against your skin, the warmth of your skin softens them, and they leave your skin moisturized.  Sure, it doesn’t absorb as quickly as storebought lotion, but it’s also not full of weird chemicals, dyes, or perfumes.  I love them and can tell a real difference in my super-dry sky after using them.

I really liked this project – the bars would make a fun gift, and would be easy to dress up with different molds or cute packaging.  This pin is a keeper!