Tags

When Man-Child was a little boy, he made what we called “The Pirate Face.”  See Exhibit A:Arrrr!

We thought it was awesome.  We repeatedly told him, “Show me your Pirate Face!”  And he would!  On demand!  But little did we know, it was a sign that there was a problem with his eyes.

Around his first birthday, we noticed that he didn’t always appear to be looking at us.  He had one eye that seemed to look off to the side.  At 18 months, we took him to a pediatric ophthalmologist.  We learned that our sweet boy’s “Pirate Face” was an indicator that he was losing vision in that eye and was compensating for the loss of vision by squinting/closing that eye.   Our little guy had exotropia.  Every six months, we were at the doctor monitoring the changes.

Eventually, the monitoring stopped. At 3 years old, surgery was done.  Seven months later, the first pair of glasses was purchased.NoahMany, many pairs followed.

But this week marked a momentous occasion.  After 11 year of glasses and two surgeries, Man-Child’s eyes finally arrived at a point where contacts were an option.  Monday night, he came home with a pair for practicing.

Right eye:  1 try, contact goes in.  Left eye:  457 tries, contact goes back in the case.  Rinse and repeat. And repeat.  You get the picture.

Wednesday night: the correct prescription came in.  And after a minimal amount of tries, both were in his eyes.  Here is a transcript of his reaction:

“Oh my gosh!  Everything is so bright and weird.  Oh my gosh.  Look at that!  Oh my gosh!  I know I can’t play Xbox during the week but can I at least turn it on to see what it looks like?!  Oh my gosh!  Look at that!  Is that what it always looks like?  Look how far away I am!*”

It makes me so happy!  And look what was hiding behind those frames!Noah's EyeMy Man-Child’s beautiful hazel eyes!

Lookin’ good, man.

*Insert approximately 14 more “Oh my goshes!”