Tags

, ,

This Has Pin-Tential!Megan is right.  We have totally turned into a food blog.  But I spend a lot of time cooking.  The people that live at my house want to eat multiple times a day.  Weird, huh?

This school year, the kids have been taking their lunch to school most days.  And I like to send them some small treat to go with their sandwich and fruit.  Something made with love and sinfully delicious.

I pinned this recipe ages ago.  I kept looking at it over and over.  Then, recently, Megan and I went antiquing.  One of our stops was at a flea market and I found a fantastic and cheap brand-new Wilton Whoopie Pie pan!  It was like a sign.  It was time to make the Brownie Cookies with Salted Caramel Creme Filling!!  And lucky timing…A Monday Holiday!  Let the baking begin!

This recipe was a bit more labor intensive than I typically tackle but I decided I was up for the challenge.  If you’d like to see the recipe in its entirety, you can find it here.

First, I made the delicious brownie cookies.  Brownie Cookies

I thoroughly sprayed the pan and the cookies popped right out.

Then, while they cooled, I made the caramel.  Yep, you heard me right.  Homemade caramel.  It’s a thing of beauty.CaramelThe caramel sauce gets combined with butter, powdered sugar, and salt.  Then you just beat it until fluffy and fantastic.  Spread a bit (or a lot) on the flat side of the cookies and then top with another cookie.  Voila!Brownie Cookies with Salted Caramel Creme FIllingQuite a bit of work.

But so worth it.

Plus, I may still have creme filling in my fridge waiting for the next round of cookies.*

*Who are we kidding?  It’s totally just waiting on a spoon.