Tags

Here’s my secret addiction:

Wouldn't you like to be a Pepper, too?

Hello, pretty.  Why, yes, I will drink you while I write this blog post.  Thank you for the offer.

Back when I was young whippersnapper, I would occasionally frequently drink a Dr Pepper in the morning and call it breakfast.  I eventually learned the error of my ways and started eating a real breakfast (and discovered COFFEE OHMYGOD COFFEE), but I still seriously love Dr Pepper.  Of course, it’s not really good for me – I know that.  It’s basically a science experiment and I should probably just drink water, but sometimes a girl needs a little sweetness and a little fizz, right?

So, clearly the answer is: Make my own soda!  Homemade soda is delicious, refreshing, and fizzy, and if JB wants a sip, I can let him have one without too much concern.  All you have to do is make your soda syrup (whatever flavor your imagination desires!) and mix it with seltzer.  I’ll never give up the DP entirely, but I’m also pretty pleased with my own homemade pop.

Strawberry-Lime Soda

Strawberry-Lime Soda

1 lb. frozen strawberries (you could of course use fresh – you’d just need to add a little extra water)
6 c. water
2 limes, zested in strips and juiced
1 1/2 c. sugar (use more or less depending on how sweet you’d like your soda)

Combine the strawberries, water, lime zest and sugar in a large saucepan.  Cook over medium heat until strawberries break down, about 15 – 20 minutes.  Take off heat and remove zest strips.  Mash berries with potato masher (or immersion blender).  Strain through a fine-mesh strainer, and then return the strained syrup to the saucepan.  Cook at a simmer until syrup thickens, about 15 more minutes. Let cool, then stir in the lime juice.  Store in fridge.

To make a soda:  pour 1/3 c. soda syrup and 1 1/3 c. seltzer over ice and stir to combine.  Use more or less syrup to make it to your liking!