Tags

To answer that question: No.  There is no such thing as too many tunics.

So far I’ve made three versions of the Portfolio Tunic (Simplicity 2245), and I really love it.  I’m actually wearing one of the versions right now as I write this post.  I suspect I’m going to start waiting by the dryer for them to come out so I can wear one.  All.  The.  Time.

The first version was a blue-and-white seersucker; it was my toile, but ended up wearable.  The second was a longer sleeved corduroy, which I’ve worn with skinny jeans and boots and felt totally awesome in.  My most recent version was in a quilting cotton; that one I left off the neckband and finished the neckline with bias strips of the fabric, and also used a sleeve band for a slightly-longer short sleeve.  Here are versions 2 and 3 (version one needed some serious ironing!):Two for Tunic.

I can’t get enough of those pockets.  I seriously want to make 40 more of these, but I’m controlling myself.  In fact, to stop myself from making yet another Portfolio, I decided to pull out a 1/4-finished Schoolhouse Tunic I started last summer and finished  it up:

Schoolhouse TunicI have no idea why I chose this fabric at the time – I’m guessing I thought it’d be good test fabric since I don’t really like it.  And while the tunic turned out not-half-bad, I probably won’t wear it much because of that.  I’d like to make another in a lighter-weight fabric, maybe a cotton voile, and not in a print that looks like a bedsheet.  It’s a great pattern, though – it was easy to put together and I think it’d be easy to wear if you choose fabric wisely.

As for future clothing sewing, I started a Sewing Knits class last week, so I can’t wait until I get to post pictures of knit garments I make.  Expect to a see a lot of homemade t-shirts this summer!

Tell me: If you sew garments, what’s your favorite pattern?  And what’s your dream garment to sew for yourself?