Tags

,

It’s no secret that we love a scone around here.  And with Valentine’s Day coming up soon (and falling most inconveniently on a weekday), I thought I’d revisit my favorite scone recipe and see if I couldn’t Valentine it up a little bit.

Of course, no V-Day is complete without chocolate, so I added that.  And because you have to have something red, I chose chopped dried cherries.  This time, I patted my scones into two smaller circles and cut each into fourths, which gave me fatter triangles; I then gently pressed a little ‘v’ into the top of the triangle and rounded the  top corners, which gave me a pretty decent heart-shaped scone without having to use a cutter.  (Yay for less work!)Sweetheart Scones @ Boomtown Sisters

One final note about these Sweetheart Scones: scones keep great overnight in the fridge before baking, so you could easily put them together before bed, pop the baking sheet in the fridge (I loosely cover the scones with a tea towel), and then bake them off the next morning for a special (and easy!) Valentine’s breakfast.

Sweetheart Scones

2 c. AP flour
1/3 c. sugar
1 T. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1/2 c. cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/2″ pieces
1 c. whipping cream, plus 2 T. more
1/3 c. chopped dried cherries
2/3 c. coarsely chopped dark chocolate (or whatever kind you like!)

Preheat oven to 450°.  Whisk together the dry ingredients in a large bowl, then cut in butter with a pastry cutter (or your fingers) until the pieces are the size of small peas.  Place the bowl in freezer for 5 minutes.  Stir in chocolate, cherries, and cream until dry ingredients are just moistened.  The mixture will be crumbly, but should hold together when pressed with your fingers – if it doesn’t, add a touch more cream as gently as possible – overworking the dough is a scone killer!  Divide dough in half, and turn out onto parchment.  Pat into two small circles (about an inch or so thick).  Cut each into 4 wedges; gently shape into a heart shape if desired.  Place on a lined or greased baking sheet.  Right before baking, brush with the remaining 2 T. whipping cream.  Bake 12 – 15 minutes, or until golden.

Sweetheart Scones @ Boomtown Sisters