Tags

Burnin' Love 2You had to figure I would include a doughnut recipe this week.  I mean, come on.  It’s the Doughnut Queen you’re talking to!

I really wanted to see what kind of spicy flavors I could incorporate into a chocolate doughnut.  So, a couple of weeks ago I started playing around with flavors.  My family totally hated having to try all the trial versions.  Okay, so maybe they didn’t hate it.

My inspiration for this doughnut was the flavors of Mexican chocolate.  Many years ago, there was a small coffee shop in the town where I live that served a South of the Border Mocha.  It was so amazing.  The Mexican chocolate has such a spicy, cinnamon-y warm flavor.  That’s what I was trying to recreate with this recipe.

Here’s my twist.  I hope you like it.Spiced Chocolate Cinnamon Chip Doughnuts

Chocolate Cinnamon Chip Doughnuts with Spiced Glaze

Yield:  14-16 doughnuts

  • 2  cups AP flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/3 cup sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large egg
  • 1 cup cinnamon chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly grease two doughnut pans.  Sift the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and baking soda together.  Then whisk in the sugar, nutmeg, cinnamon, cayenne,  and salt.  Add the butter, and using your fingers, rub it into the dry ingredients until it becomes coarse crumbs.  Stir in cinnamon chips.
In a separate bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, yogurt, vanilla and egg. Add to the flour mixture and stir until just combined. Take care not to over mix!
Fill a Ziploc bag with the batter, cut an opening in one corner, and fill each well of pan 1/2 full.  Be careful not to overfill.  If you do, you will have lovely muffins, not doughnuts!
Bake for 8-10 minutes, until the doughnuts spring back when touched. Let cool on a wire rack before glazing.

Spiced Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar
2 Tablespoons half & half or milk (or leftover coffee!!)*
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Whisk glaze ingredients together until smooth.  Dip tops of doughnuts in glaze and set doughnuts aside until glaze is set.

I'm Ready for My Close-Up

*What is this strange thing called “leftover coffee”?  I am unfamiliar with this phenomenon!  🙂