Tags

Burnin' Love 2

Oh, y’all.  We are ending Burnin’ Love week with a bang.

Or an inferno, if we’re going to be literal.

When I first read the recipe for these bread and butter jalapenos at Homesick Texan, I couldn’t get the idea out of my head.  I love bread and butter pickles, and have grown to love jalapenos as an adult, and the thought of those two flavors merging?  GENIUS.

When I made them this week, they didn’t disappoint.  The spices and sweetness are everything I love about a bread and butter pickle, but the burn from the jalapeno balances it perfectly.  But I’m not going to kid you – when I say “burn,” I mean “set your hair on fire.”  These suckers are hot.  I don’t know if I maybe bought jalapenos that were grown in Satan’s garden or what, but they are craaaaazy spicy.    The next time I make them, I think I’ll remove the ribs and seeds entirely.  There will definitely be a next time, though. I can imagine using these in a million ways: topping burgers and sandwiches, chopped into deviled eggs and tuna salad, sprinkled on salads, and, of course, straight out of the jar.

Bread and Butter Jalapenos

Bread and Butter Jalapenos

from Homesick Texan

1/2 lb. jalapenos (I’d recommend seeding and removing the ribs, but it’s your call!)
1 c. apple cider vinegar
1/2 c. sugar
1 t. mustard seeds
1/2 t. whole cloves
1/2 t. whole allspice
1 cinnamon stick

Slice and pack the jalapenos into a pint canning jar.  Bring spices, sugar, and vinegar to a boil, then pour over jalapenos.  Let sit at room temperature, then put a lid on and refrigerate.  You can eat them in a few hours, but the flavor will intensify if you wait overnight!