Tags

, ,

This Has Pin-Tential!Some foods are almost as inviting and delicious while they bake as they are to eat.  You know the ones; your house smells so good you kinda wish there was a way to text aromas to other people so that they could appreciate (or be jealous of) it, too.  For me, typically those foods are the ones that come heavily spiced with cinnamon.  It creates such a warm, homey feeling.

That’s when I found the recipe for Apple Fritter Cake, I knew I had to try it.  I love anything with apples as well, so I knew it would be a hit with me.  And since I invited the parents over Saturday night, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to bust the recipe out.Apple Fritter CakeThis cake has incredibly sinful spiced apples sandwiched between layers of dense batter flavored with applesauce and hints of cinnamon and vanilla.  Oh, did I fail to mention that you sprinkle cinnamon-sugar between the layers of batter as well?  No?  Well, you do.  And you sprinkle a fairly healthy layer over the top, too.

The aroma while this bakes is unreal.  Unreal, people.  Spicy, apple-y, sweet, warm.  I could totally keep going.  Then when it comes out of the oven, you get to do the best part.  Pour a layer of sweet glaze right over the warm cake.   And this, my dear friends is what you get:DSC_0128 (529x353)Do you see that apple frittery goodness?!!  Heavens to Murgatroyd!  Save me!!