Tags

,

(Alternate Title: “This could be bad.”)

Here’s a dirty little secret, y’all.  As much as I love baking and as many decadent brownie recipes as I’ve made over the years, I still really, really, really love brownies from a box.  I know, it’s crazy.  But there’s something about that box of brownie mix – it’s easy, the results are consistent, and honestly, the brownies themselves are pretty good  They’re always fudgy and moist, and there aren’t very many dishes to wash when it’s all said and done.

But they’re also from a box.  And because they are from a box, you know they have a lot of weird, not-found-in-nature ingredients.  So, clearly the answer is, make your own mix, right?

I totally took one for the team here – for the last few weeks, I’ve been testing out various DIY brownie mixes from around the web, and y’all?  They haven’t all been good.  I’ve thrown away entire pans of brownies because they were an affront to my brownie-loving sensibilities.  But I’m happy to report I’ve found a winner!

The recipe that I’ve fallen for is from Country Momma Cooks, and it makes a TON of brownie mix, enough for four 9 x 13 pans.  There is no world in which I need access to 468 square inches of brownies, so for my purposes I’ve sized things down here. This batch will be enough to make two 8 x 8 pans of brownies.  I mix up the full amount of dry ingredients, divide it in half, and put one half away in a jar for the next brownie emergency. If you have a bigger family or can be trusted around large quantities of brownie mix, definitely use the original recipe and save yourself time down the road!

Brownies!

Brownie Mix – makes 2 8×8 pans

adapted from Country Momma Cooks

In a bowl, whisk together the following dry ingredients:

1 1/4 c. unbleached AP flour
1 t. baking powder
1 t. salt
3/4 c. natural cocoa powder
2 c. sugar

Divide the mix into half (it’s about 1 3/4 cup in each half, give or take a couple of tablespoons) and store, or bake as desired.

To make the brownies (an 8×8 pan – if you want a 9×13, use all of the above mix and double the following ingredients):

Whisk together the following wet ingredients:

1/2 c. melted butter, cooled
1 t. vanilla
1 1/2 t. water
1 whole egg + 1 egg yolk

Stir the wet ingredients into your dry mix.  If you’d like, add nuts or chocolate chips at this point, too.  Spread batter into a greased 8 x 8 baking pan or dish, and bake at 350 for 25 – 30 minutes.

A tower of yumminess.