Tags

,

I know you are aware of my love of baked doughnuts.  I have made so many different versions, I’ve lost count.

Yesterday, I decided to make a batch of Blueberry Lemon Glazed Doughnuts I found over at Wanna Be A Country Cleaver.  This recipe was a little more fussy than my usual  recipes.

For one thing, you start out by making a blueberry jam using berries, sugar, and lemon juice.  Y’all, I could seriously just eat this with a spoon.  It is that good.  After it simmers a bit, you set it aside and make your doughnut batter.  Once you’ve spooned or piped your batter into a greased doughnut pan, you spoon on some of the jam.  Then you use a knife to swirl it about.

After a quick little trip through the oven, you will be accosted by a heavenly aroma.  Holy cow, it smells good.  However, here’s where the tricky part for me came in.  Apparently, I did not grease my pans well enough because my doughnuts welded themselves to the pan.  Like might have to break out the hammer and chisel welded.  Fortunately, I managed to pry them loose and only mangled a couple.

After cooling, they get dipped in a delicious lemon zested glaze.  Whoa, Nellie.   Blueberry Lemon Glazed Doughnuts

So, while these were fussy in comparison to some of my other doughnut recipes, they were well worth the extra effort.  I could probably be persuaded to make them again.  They had a wonderful texture and were lovely to behold.

Well, except for the two casualties.  But we ate them anyway.  Glaze covers a multitude of sins.