Tags

, ,

As much as I tease Jenny for being the doughnut queen, I seem to have a similar problem with muffins.  Whenever I need a good snack on hand for JB or a quick breakfast, I almost always pull out a muffin recipe.

I love a good muffin for a lot of reasons: it’s portable, it’s toddler-sized, it’s easy to riff on depending on what ingredients you have on hand.  This particular muffin recipe has become a family favorite, but it was born out of desperation.  For whatever reason, I always have about 47 overripe bananas on my kitchen counter.  It really doesn’t matter how many bananas I start out with – I could buy a mere three bananas at the beginning of the week, and by the end of the week, I somehow have, like, 7 overripe ones.  And I hate throwing away food, so I often just turned those bananas into banana bread.  However, there are only so many loaves of banana bread you can shove at your husband before he gets glassy-eyed.

So, I looked for a good banana muffin recipe to change things up, and found this one from Taste of Home.  I’m sure it’s delicious as written, but I had to tweak it a wee bit for my particular audience.  I subbed in peanut butter chips for the chocolate chips (because my husband will eat anything if you involve peanut butter in it), and swapped out some of the white flour for whole wheat.  I also use a touch more yogurt, but that’s again because I don’t like to throw away food – the recipe calls for a half a cup, but I had a little 5.3 oz container on hand the first time and just used it all.

Both of my boys loved it, and it’s a recipe I now make pretty often. Because, again, those dang bananas…

Banana PB Chip Muffin

Banana PB Chip Muffins

makes 18

1 c. unbleached AP flour
3/4 c. whole wheat pastry flour (or use all AP flour!)
3/4 c. white sugar
1 t. baking soda
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1 egg
1/2 c. canola oil
1 small container (5.3 oz) plain Greek yogurt (I use non-fat but obviously full fat would be EVEN AWESOMER), or 1/2 c. plain Greek yogurt
1 t. vanilla
1 c. mashed banana (about 2 – 3)
3/4 c. peanut butter chips

Preheat oven to 350.  Line 18 muffin cups with paper liners and set aside.

Whisk together flours, sugar, soda, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.  In a separate bowl, whisk together egg, oil, yogurt and vanilla.  Fold wet ingredients into dry until moistened, then stir in mashed banana and peanut butter chips.  Portion into muffin tins (don’t overfill, because they won’t really dome and you’ll end up with weird flat edges around your muffin).  Bake 22 – 25 minutes, or until tester comes out clean.  Cool on wire rack for 5 minutes, then remove from muffin tins.

Muffins!