Tags

,

Except for doughnuts, I am not much of a baker.  Don’t get me wrong:  I love baked goods…when other people make them.  But I want to be a baker so I’m trying to step outside of my comfort zone.

So, awhile back I found a recipe for Salty Honey Pie, which I kept inadvertently referring to as “Salted Honey Pie”.  Hence the title of my post.  Every time I said its name, it sounded more like “Assaulted Honey” Pie, which just makes me giggle.  I’m picturing a poor innocent little pie, minding its own business, maybe running to the store or headed out to the yoga studio.  You know, just going about its day and then bam!  Out of nowhere, menaced by thugs.  Poor Pie!

The pie’s origins are in Brooklyn at Four + Twenty Blackbirds but I am so glad that the recipe found its way to me here in Oklahoma because it is amazing.  Now keep in mind, you must like honey if you choose to eat this pie because there is a full 3/4 cup in there!  The top of the pie gets all toasted and crisp while the inside stays soft.  I would compare the inner texture to the filling in pecan pie.  Whoa, buddy…it’s good.  I made mine with some delicious local Oklahoma honey and a generous sprinkle of coarse sea salt.  You should most definitely make this pie sooner than later!

Salty Honey Pie