Tags

Jenny–About a month ago,  Megan mentioned how much she hated menu planning.  I share her hatred.    It’s pretty weird how much I hate it because I love cooking.  But sometimes the deciding what to cook is so tedious.

Also, much like Megan, we don’t eat enough vegetables in our house.  I try with the vegetables but I tend to serve the same ones over and over again.  You can only eat green beans so many times.  So, when Megan clued me into No More To Go, I knew I had to try it, too.  (Also, I am totally not trying to Single White Female her, regardless of what she says.)

I thought I would show you a couple of the big hits lately.

Chicken Lettuce Wraps with Two Sauces

Chicken Lettuce Wraps with Two Sauces

We loved this!  It was flavorful and loaded with mushrooms, peppers, water chestnuts, and bamboo shoots.  But what really made it delicious was the sauces.  One was a spicy sweet tangy sauce while the other was thick, rich, and full of delicious peanut butter flavor.  It made a ton and I was able to share the wealth with the parents so they had a tasty meal as well.

Shrimp and Grits with an Egg on Top

Shrimp and Grits

You’ll notice no egg on top.  That’s because someone who shall remain nameless forgot to buy eggs.  No worries.  This was unbelievable without it.  I have made grits numerous times; this was the first time every single spoonful was consumed.  Maybe it was because of the healthy dose of cheese in the grits or maybe it was the bacony garlic shrimp goodness ladled over the top.  But whatever it was, this meal was given the “nod” and a “You can make this again!”

Megan– We’re really loving the meal-planning from No More To Go, too.  It’s taken what was a huge chore and made it almost fun – I like pulling up the new menu plan each Friday and seeing what we’re going to have the next week.  And every meal we’ve tried has been consistently better than what I normally cook.  I’m cooking foods I never attempt because my past efforts have failed (fish, pork chops) and they’re turning out delicious.  We’re getting more variety, more vegetables, and the best part?  The leftovers are all getting eaten!

There’s a great balance of meat-and-side meals with more adventurous meals: my husband was happy to try Chicken Tikka Masala with Naan, because that same week we had the more familiar Smothered Steak with Mashed Potatoes and Peas.  In all honesty, I am spending slightly more on groceries each week, but only about $10 or so; that said, I’m also getting more mileage out of leftovers, so we’re really getting more meals out of the grocery budget each week, so it’s an improvement.

Now, if I can just figure out what other despised household chores I could outsource….

*Jenny thought I would change that.  Jenny thought wrong.