Tags

,

I’ve been on a quest to make JB some cool summer shorts this year, and it got off to a rough start.  I’m a little bit picky about patterns now – I want cool details, but most importantly, the shorts need to fit well and be comfortable.  

I’ve tried a lot of different pants patterns for JB, and in truth, he’s just a little hard to fit.  He’s a big boy with a very generous backside and a round tummy, and a lot of little boy pants patterns are simply cut too slim through the hips.  I love the Treasure Pocket Pants from the Sewing for Boys book, but I’ve already made JB several pairs of shorts from that pattern and I don’t want all his shorts to be identical.

So, I decided to try the Little Long Boards pattern from Make It Perfect.  It’s available as a PDF pattern, which is great because you get to start working on it as soon as you purchase – yay for instant gratification!  These shorts have some nice details – knee patches to extend the life of the shorts, faux fly topstitching, slash pockets, and a comfy ribbed knit waistband.

Y’all?  These are my new favorite shorts!  They fly together – the pattern is drafted really well and the directions are thorough.  I did more topstitching than was called for because I like the durability that a fake flatfelled seam brings to little boy clothes.  I’ve made three pairs of these shorts so far; I left the knee patches off two of them because of the fabric – I didn’t want to break up the print (plus I was hustling to finish these before vacation and wanted to make them as a quickly as possible).

llb collage

These shorts look cool and he can really play in them – the wide soft waistband doesn’t squeeze and the length of the shorts allows him to crawl around with his knees protected.

I have fabric already set aside for a few more pairs of these this summer, and in the fall I can’t wait to make the pants version.  This is definitely going to be my go-to JB pants pattern!