Tags

, ,

So, the Summer of Dresses is continuing around here.  Today, I’m showing off Simplicity 2638:maxi dressI seriously love this dress.

As you can see, it’s a maxi dress so you get that whole modesty factor but it’s as cool and comfy as wearing shorts.  I love the gathered part of the bodice, and the waistband that gives it a little shape so it doesn’t look maternity-esque.  Another great feature of this dress (which I should have taken a picture of!) is that the back of the dress is fully covered.  The back bodice has a zipper to mid back, and then a button/thread loop at the neckline, which makes for a sweet little keyhole opening. You could easily use a longer zipper and close the opening entirely if you prefer, too.

The pattern isn’t complicated (though I’m pretty dreadful at gathering).  After I muslined the bodice to get a general idea of fit, I made this over the course of about three naptimes.  I used a rayon challis from Hancock Fabrics, and it’s so soft and floaty.  The bodice is lined, and I used French seams in the skirt to minimize unraveling.

This dress is a pleasure to wear and I’m having to fight my usual desire to make multiple versions of it.  I probably won’t make another one this summer, but I’m going to file this pattern away for future use – it’s a good one!