Tags

,

Last week, I decided on a whim to make JB a quilt.  I haven’t been in the mood to sew clothing lately, but I like to have a project and a quilt seemed like just the thing.  I’ve only made the one quilt by myself so I’m hardly a quilter; but lately I’ve been obsessively reading quilt blogs and books, and I’ve had a hankering to tackle one.

Since this was going to be a play quilt for JB, something for him to drag around outside, I didn’t want to make the blocks complex.  I went with a basic scrappy log cabin, because I love the clean lines and JB loves squares.  I didn’t really plan to make it so patriotic, but this time of year it’s hard not to think about bright reds and blues.  Because the overall effect is so bright, I’m calling it the firecracker quilt, in that it’s startling if you’re not prepared.

Fiirecracker QuiltThe back is just a solid blue Kona cotton, with a strip made from my leftover scraps:Firecracker Quilt - Back The binding* is made from leftovers as well, and I really love the scrappy effect.  I free-motion quilted the whole thing in a rather erratic stipple, but hey, I’m learning.

When I pulled it out of the dryer and showed JB, he immediately wanted to curl up with it, which is the perfect response to a handmade quilt.  Happy 4th of July, sweetheart!JB and his quilt

*A confession: my binding went all to heck in the washer.  I guess I didn’t sew a deep enough seam allowance and after it was washed, the quilt front separated from the binding in a couple of places. Grr.  I’m too inexperienced to know how best to repair this, so I’m just going to take off the entire binding (which I even hand-sewed on the back – ahhhh!) and do it all over.  Oh, well.  It’s a learning experience!