Tags

, ,

I don’t know what it’s like in your neck of the woods right now, but here in Oklahoma it’s about 150 degrees outside.*  And when it’s that hot, the last thing I want to do is turn on the oven.

Which means I, obviously, have the urge to bake.  Cakes, cookies, biscuits, you name it.  The only way I’ve found to beat the heat is to bake early in the morning or late at night.  So early in the morning is what it was today.  This morning, the chosen item was scones.

I love scones.  By far, my favorite recipe is this one.  But with the abundance of juicy, ripe blueberries right now, blueberry scones sounded like the perfect option.

This scone comes from King Arthur Flour and it is a really nice, easy recipe.  The texture is tender and the scones aren’t overly sweet.  A lot of the reviewers call this scone a “scuffin” because it’s texture is like a cross between a muffin and a scone.  I found that to be a pretty good comparison.

Check out the fruits of my labors!Blueberry Scones

Now, excuse me while I go eat another!

 

*That’s an exaggeration:  it’s only going to be 101 today.  But with a heat index of 110, that’s basically 150 degrees!