Tags

fall kicks

Dear Megan,
The ’90s called.  They want their shoes back.

So, I’ve been trying to style up my wardrobe these days (hence my recent talk of Stitch Fix – post coming soon!) and feel like I’m finally starting to nail down my personal style.  It’s a little casual, a little lot tomboy-ish, and completely comfortable.  I do not believe in suffering in my clothes, y’all.  Life is too short to be squeezed by what you’re wearing.

Anyway, while evaluating my closet for fall, I found I was lacking in the footwear department.  It’s too tempting to wear my Chucks every day – I mean, they definitely have a place in my wardrobe, but it’d be fun to have options.  I have a couple of pairs of boots (my beloved Fryes and the old-man-cowboy-boots-of-my-dreams), but those are limited in how I wear them.  The Fryes demand a tucked-in pant leg, and I’m not emotionally strong enough to wear skinny jeans that often. I knew the answer was an ankle boot (you can’t make me call it a bootie), but I just wasn’t having any luck finding one that suited my developing personal style.

And then I found the boots above – the Dr. Martens Felice 8-Eye (by the way, don’t buy them through that link – you can get a better deal if you look around.  It’s just a good picture!). My first thought was, “Megan!  You can’t wear combat boots!  You lived through the ’90s – you are TOO OLD to participate in a trend that you lived through!”

But then I kept looking at them – and y’all, I love them. They are sleeker than the Docs that surrounded me in the ’90s, and remind me of a bowling shoe in the best possible way.  And once I tried them on with a cuffed straight leg jean that showed a little sock – oh, it was over.  I’m going to wear these suckers all autumn long. I can only promise I won’t wear them with overalls and a flannel shirt knotted around my waist.

Maybe.

So, what you do you think?  Is it okay to wear a trend that you lived through already? And if so, have you done it yourself?  Which ones?